Day 41-64

Standard

I feel very much like I traded one hell for another. In place of a constantly red and inflamed neck (prior to TSW) I now deal with alternating periods in which my skin is calm and smooth followed by periods of an intensely raw and itchy sensation. During the bad periods, the eczema is localized in the entire region above my chest and along my entire arm. My eyelids are dry and itchy, my cheeks and forehead display a reddish blush, and the skin around my shoulders peel like grated chocolate curls. I call this a new hell because while my neck is noticeably less red than it has been in the past, the fact that topical steroid withdrawal (TSW) induced eczema on my shoulders make it physically painful to move, wear backpacks or bras due to the rawness and sensitivity. Most fabrics now irritate my skin making it impossible to wear many of my clothes. When the eczema was just on my neck, I didn’t have to worry about these things because it was literally bathed in air. The worse part of TSW is the pain. I can’t describe it perfectly but its almost an intense itchy sensation. You want to scratch it but you know that if you do, the skin becomes more sensitive. When I fight the urge to scratch, it feels like ants are crawling up my skin. I’m not sure if I should call this burning. It’s a lot more intense and painful than what I dealt with prior to TSW. This burning sensation is constant, so for the whole day I feel pretty much like I’m in pain. Sometimes I get so sick of it that I wish I was never born. Despite this, when the good period comes its absolutely rewarding! For anyone deciding TSW, just please make sure that you prepare yourself mentally and emotionally because it literally is like a roller coaster.

31 responses »

  1. Yes, the flares absolutely do get less intense! Mine were pretty bad up until month 5-6 or so. Meaning: I was/am still red and itchy but I don’t feel as shitty, I don’t look as red or dry or oozy, I hurt and itch less, I am less raw. And each month further out it keeps getting less painful and less aggravating. Right now (day 264!), nine times out of ten, it’s more annoying than anything else. I still get itch frenzies but it’s much less often and I can usually talk myself down, so to speak, and stop or at least lighten up on the scratching. TSW sucks and is so hard but I know it will be worth it for all of us TSWers. Hang in there!

      • Hi.. Would like to find out wht is topical steroid withdrawal. I ve contact dermatitis. It’s on my face n at times I do hv it on d neck. Had it for d last 2 yrs. I do apply steroid cream but not everyday for d last 2 yrs. it’s only when it’s unbearable I ll used it for 2-3 days. But my face never got really better.

  2. Hi, use epsom salt. It will lessen the redness. You’re in a situation where you have secondary bacteria infection so your skin is unstable. Email me if you want to know more.

      • Well, I don’t get TSW but I do I am allergic to certain drugs and sometimes even the doctor will pescribe the wrong drug to me and rash will appear. Besides puffy face, I will get raw redness on my neck and arms. So I know that kind of raw pain.

      • Vuvie, I was only commenting on the part where you said epsom salts will lessen redness. WIth TSW, you will be red until your skin decides to stop being red. There’s not too much you can do with that. However, I definitely agree that epsom salt baths help with pain.

  3. I feel you. I have eczema of all sorts on my palms, back of hand and all over my limbs and torso. I know how it’s like to have eczema and no one understands how painful and tiring it is to go through a day without collapsing.

    I finally broke down and cried 2 weeks ago because I’ve had it with the pain and itch. I can never sleep because of the pain and itch so much so I have to take sleeping pills.

  4. Pingback: Day 41-64 : Eczema-Help

  5. I know this if off topic but I’m looking into starting my own blog and was wondering what all is needed to get setup?

    I’m assuming having a blog like yours would cost a pretty penny?
    I’m not very internet smart so I’m not 100% sure.
    Any suggestions or advice would be greatly
    appreciated. Appreciate it

  6. Interesting blog! Is your theme custom made
    or did you download it from somewhere? A design like yours with a few simple adjustements would really make my blog stand out.
    Please let me know where you got your theme.
    Kudos

  7. Awesome site you have here but I was curious about if you knew of any community
    forums that cover the same topics discussed in this article?

    I’d really like to be a part of group where I can get advice from other knowledgeable
    people that share the same interest. If you have any suggestions,
    please let me know. Many thanks!

  8. I loved as much as you’ll receive carried out right here.
    The sketch is tasteful, your authored material stylish. nonetheless, you
    command get got an shakiness over that you wish be delivering the following.

    unwell unquestionably come further formerly again as
    exactly the same nearly very often inside case you shield this hike.

  9. What’s Going down i am new to this, I stumbled upon this I’ve found It positively useful and it has helped me out loads.
    I’m hoping to contribute & help different customers like
    its helped me. Great job.

  10. Hello, Neat post. There is a problem together with your web site in web explorer, may check this?
    IE still is the marketplace leader and a big section of people will leave out your fantastic
    writing because of this problem.

  11. I’m not sure where you are getting your info, but great
    topic. I needs to spend some time learning much more or understanding more.
    Thanks for great info I was looking for this information for my mission.

  12. Right here is the perfect site for everyone who really
    wants to find out about this topic. You know so much its
    almost hard to argue with you (not that I
    really would want to…HaHa). You certainly put a fresh
    spin on a subject that’s been discussed for ages. Excellent stuff, just excellent!

  13. Excellent post. I used to be checking constantly this weblog and I am impressed!
    Very useful information specifically the closing phase 🙂 I deal with such
    information much. I used to be seeking this certain information for a very long time.

    Thanks and best of luck.

  14. Thank you for the auspicious writeup. It if truth be told
    was once a entertainment account it. Look advanced
    to far brought agreeable from you! By the way, how can we be
    in contact?

  15. Thanks for the good writeup. It in truth used to be a enjoyment account it.
    Look complex to more added agreeable from you!
    However, how could we keep in touch?

  16. Its like you read my thoughts! You seem to know so much approximately
    this, like you wrote the guide in it or something.
    I think that you can do with some % to drive the message house
    a bit, but other than that, this is magnificent blog. An excellent read.
    I’ll certainly be back.

  17. What you said made a lot of sense. However, what about this?

    what if you were to create a killer post title? I am not
    suggesting your content is not solid., but suppose
    you added a headline that grabbed folk’s attention? I mean Day 41-64 | Eczema Struggles is a little plain. You
    could peek at Yahoo’s front page and see how they create post titles
    to grab people to click. You might try adding a video or
    a picture or two to grab people interested about everything’ve got to say.

    Just my opinion, it might make your blog a little livelier.

Leave a Reply

