Can Humidifiers Help with Eczema?

Standard

As you know living in a dry climate or turning up the heat during winter can dry out your skin further aggravating your eczema. Since I’ve gotten the humidifier, I wake up with less flaky skin, especially in the winter. Also, for a while I’ve been waking up with crusty eyes, but it stopped with the humidifier. Personally, I think this is a luxury item and won’t have a significant improvement on your quality of life. It will only help to reduce dryness which can make your eczema worse but it won’t eliminate it completely.

For more details on my experience with a humidifier and choosing one below:

One morning I woke up, mouth parched with the skin on my neck flaking off like snowflakes, only not so pretty. With the winter coming, I decided that I had to buy a humidifier. However, my past experience with my last humidifier was horrid. I had bought one from Canadian Tire for ~$30. It was a cool mist humidifier with a reusable filter and a fan. It ended up being a huge mistake. First of all, to prevent bacteria growth I had to clean the sloppy tank on a daily basis with an antibacterial solution. To make matters worse, the longer I used it, the more I found myself waking up with a sore throat. To top of it off, I’ve had crusty white mould growing in my room. The hydrostat was largely inaccurate and because it didn’t decalcify the tap water, there was white filmy calcium deposit wherever the mists landed and inside the water tank. The filters were nasty looking even after I had cleaned them.  It was such a horrible experience that I swore I would never buy another humidifier again.

Image

When winter hit again, I got desperate once again and looked up the best humidifiers on the market. Ones that kept coming up were the Air-O-Swiss humidifiers. I was hesitant at first because they were expensive but I was desperate so I quickly bought the AOS Ultrasonic U650 warm & cold mist humidifier and never looked back. These humidifiers are superior to drugstore brands for many reasons:

1)      They come with an ionic stick that will prevent bacteria growth for one year. This means you never have to disinfect. I was skeptical at first, but I haven’t woken up to a sore throat.

2)      They come with a demineralization cartilage that removes calcium deposits

3)      You can have both cool and warm mist in one machine, although the warm mist is not steaming hot so it won’t necessarily warm up the room in the winter

4)      No fan, no noise. Ultra quiet

5)      Ultrasonic means that it breaks water droplets into finer size droplets allowing it a greater chance to be evaporated into the air rather than dropping onto the ground

6)      If you’re allergic to dust, the humidity binds to the dust causing it to fall to the ground making it easier to vacuum.

Image

The only bad thing is that tilting the machine will cause the water to spill and sometimes even onto the cord if you are not being careful. Maintenance can be expensive long-term. They suggests buying E Cal to remove calcium deposits in the tray ($~10 Cad for 3 packages) but you can use white vinegar. Also, you can purchase 3 packages of refills ($30) for the demineralization cartilages rather than a single new cartilage ($20).

This is just one humidifier that I tried. I’m sure that any other humidifier out there can do the same job. Just make sure to choose one that decalcifies the water if you don’t want to use distilled water, and one that has some way of killing off germs in the tank. Good luck!

21 responses »

  1. Howdy! This blog post could not be written much better!
    Reading through this post reminds me of my previous roommate!
    He continually kept preaching about this. I most certainly will forward this information
    to him. Fairly certain he’ll have a very good read. Thank you for sharing!

  2. Hi there, I discovered your web site by way of Google at the same time as looking
    for a similar topic, your website got here up, it seems to be
    great. I have bookmarked it in my google bookmarks.
    Hi there, simply became aware of your blog through Google, and found that
    it is really informative. I am gonna be careful for brussels.
    I will be grateful in case you continue this in future.

    Many other people will probably be benefited from your writing.
    Cheers!

  3. I have been exploring for a bit for any high quality articles or blog posts in this kind of area
    . Exploring in Yahoo I ultimately stumbled upon this web
    site. Reading this info So i am satisfied to express
    that I have an incredibly excellent uncanny feeling I found out exactly what
    I needed. I such a lot indisputably will make sure to do not disregard this website and provides it a look on a continuing
    basis.

  4. Magnificent beat ! I would like to apprentice while you amend
    your site, how could i subscribe for a blog site? The account aided me a acceptable deal.
    I had been tiny bit acquainted of this your broadcast offered bright clear concept

  5. Hello there! I could have sworn I’ve been to this website before but after reading through some of the post I realized it’s new to me.
    Anyhow, I’m definitely happy I found it and I’ll be bookmarking and checking back frequently!

  6. With havin so much content and articles do you ever run into any issues of plagorism or copyright infringement?
    My website has a lot of exclusive content I’ve either written myself or outsourced but it appears a lot of it is popping it up all over the internet without my authorization. Do you know any techniques to help reduce content from being stolen? I’d really appreciate it.

  7. It is the best time to make some plans for the
    future and it’s time to be happy. I’ve read this
    post and if I could I wish to suggest you some interesting things or advice.
    Perhaps you can write next articles referring to this article.
    I desire to read more things about it!

  8. I usually do not write a bunch of remarks, but I looked at a
    great deal of remarks on Can Humidifiers Help with Eczema?
    | Eczema Struggles. I do have a few questions for you if it’s okay. Is it just me or do a few of the comments appear like they are written by brain dead visitors? :-P And, if you are posting on other online sites, I’d like to
    keep up with you. Would you post a list of all of
    all your social community pages like your linkedin profile, Facebook page or twitter
    feed?

  9. Hey I am so delighgted I found your weblog, I really foud you by accident, while I was researching on
    Askjeeve for something else, Anyhow I am here now and woulld just like to say
    thanks for a marvelous post and a all round interesting blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t have time to read it all at the minute but I have book-marked it and also added your RSS
    feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read much
    more, Please do keep up the fantastic job.

  10. Hello! This is kind of off topic but I need some help from an established blog.
    Is it hard to set up yor own blog? I’m not very techincal
    but I can figure things out pretty fast. I’m thinking abut making
    my own but I’m not sure where to begin. Do you have
    any tips or suggestions? Many thanks

  11. Hi there, I discovered your blog by means of Google while searching for a similar topic, your site
    came up, it looks good. I’ve bookmarked it in my google bookmarks.

    Hello there, simply turned into aware of your blog thru Google, and located that it is really informative.
    I am going to be careful for brussels. I will appreciate if you happen to continue this in future.

    A lot of other folks will be benefited out of your writing.

    Cheers!

  12. I am curious to find out what blog system you’re utilizing?
    I’m having some small security issues with my latest blog
    and I’d like to find something more secure. Do you have
    any recommendations?

  13. Youur style is very unique compared to other folks I hafe read stuff from.

    Thank you for posting when youu have the opportunity, Guess I will just
    book mark this page.

Leave a Reply

